Death Is Hello

Last night, I died in my dream.

The familiar city lights remained but there was a thick mist that almost blinded me. I felt an emptiness. Like something was abruptly taken away from me. Right then and there, I saw my soul leave my body. In a fraction of a second, the vessel that I’ve used for twenty six years laid limp on the floor. Like a tattered rug. There I was, floating aimlessly, yet striding behind an unknown silhouette that paced the same street over and over again.

I woke up, expecting to feel all sorts of sadness and fright. But I was calm. I dunked my face in cold water and drank my black coffee. It’s day 1. I’m ready for my new skin.

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

